Hosting Tips and Recipes For The Festive Season

1 February 2018

Hosting Tips and Recipes For The Festive Season

The festive season is that time of the year where extended family, relatives and old friends come back from working in the city.  It can get a little crowded especially when you have to host a lunch and dinner for everyone.   Here are our tips:

  1. Make a list of everything that needs to get done. You do not have to do everything on your own, remember, you are on holiday and you need to have fun just as much as much as everyone.
  2. Delegate some of the tasks, for example, get your cousin to do the salads, while your sister is making desserts.
  3. Make a 20L of gemere (ginger beer) a couple of days in advance and keep it chilled in the fridge. Everyone loves gemere, your family will be very grateful.  If it is good, they’ll ask to take bottles of some of it to their homes.
  4. Most South African homes have that set of china only reserved for special guests. It’s usually taken out once a year or when the pastor pays a visit.  Well, ‘tis the season to take it out and put it to good use while making memories with the people you love.
  5. If you have a huge family consisting of 20+ members, chances are you will get tired while dishing up for all of them. The best practice is to dish up for the elders, abogogo nomkhulu, then have a buffet for the rest of the family.  This will make sure that no-one complains that they were given a small piece of meat.
  6. Create a jovial mood by playing music in the background. It’s always a good idea to play music the younger generation can dance to – they will keep the adults entertained by dancing to their favourite tunes.  Get your kids to help you choose the music.
  7. Do a little baking in advance – nothing pleases family members more than freshly baked scones or biscuits. Bake a lot of scones or biscuits and keep them in a bucket.  They will be greatly appreciated.
  8. Do not under estimate the ability of home baked bread to bring a family together. Everybody loves homemade bread baked outdoors in a cast iron pot.  Keep one or two breads ready.
  9. If you are slaughtering a sheep, cook the mogodu (tripe) (preferably outdoors) before your guests arrive – and serve it with homemade bread. This is always a winner and serves as a great starter.

We’ve compiled a mnandilicious list of dishes to help you prepare for your feast:

Savoury Rice: http://m.sishebo.co.za/recipes/savoury-rice/

Oxtail and Vegetable Stew: http://m.sishebo.co.za/recipes/oxtail-and-vegetable-stew/

Chicken and Butter Bean Sishebo: http://m.sishebo.co.za/recipes/chicken-and-butter-bean-sishebo/

Curried Bean Salad: http://m.sishebo.co.za/recipes/curried-bean-salad/

Spicy Potato Salad: http://m.sishebo.co.za/recipes/spicy-potato-salad/

Spicy Tomato Relish with Boerewors: http://m.sishebo.co.za/recipes/spicy-tomato-relish-boerewors/

Spicy Tripe Curry: http://m.sishebo.co.za/recipes/spicy-tripe-curry/

Beef and Red Pepper Stew: https://www.knorrwhatsfordinner.co.za/recipes/beef-and-red-pepper-stew/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *